February 27, 2023

Rest in Power, Ben Conant, Ted Rippy and Brett Hoskins

MSEA-SEIU Retirees Steering Committee Member Ben Conant, the recipient of our 2022 MSEA-SEIU Lifetime Achievement Award, died Nov. 22, 2022. A longtime leader in our union who organized our retirees’ raffle at Annual Meeting, Ben worked nearly 50 years in law enforcement for the State of Maine and Oxford County.

Ted Rippy, a fierce advocate for home-care services for all Maine people, died in December 2022. He was a leader in our Local 771 Chapter (named for the starting hourly wage of $7.71 for personal assistants at the time of the chapter’s founding) from 2010 to 2012 and a longtime board member at Food AND Medicine.

Retiree Member Brett Hoskins worked for over 20 years for MainePERS and previously represented us as Labor Co-Chair of the State Employee Health Commission. He advocated for quality, affordable healthcare and prescription coverage for participants in the State Employee Health Plan. He died Jan. 20, 2023.

Join Our Union

Are you employed by a worksite already represented by MSEA-SEIU Local 1989? Are you not yet represented, but interested in learning more? Explore the different ways you can obtain MSEA representation.

MSEA Updates



Nominations please: 2023 MSEA-SEIU Lifetime Achievement Award

Read More


Rest in Power, MSEA-SEIU past president Linwood Butterfield

Read More

Bargaining News

Rest in Power, MSEA-SEIU Lead Organizer Sarah Watson

Read More